Kissing Frogs?

I never thought it would happen
With me and the girl from Dumbarton
Out on a sunny beach
Isn’t life a peach?

It’s been a while since I’ve seen some real sunshine. Scotland isn’t known for its heatwaves.   

I think we had a few days of glorious sunshine last year. But typically it was midweek and I was stuck in an office somewhere. 

Work .. a necessary evil to fund a decent lifestyle but my mantra of keeping it in perspective is that … I’d much rather be on a beach. 

Rather ironic that last year I didn’t have a sunshine holiday after two the previous year and the years before that. No holidays and no sunshine was pretty crap. 

I was stuck in Glasgow the whole summer .. oh what a bummer. 

So right now, heading way down south to a sunshine island in the middle of nowhere is pretty cool. 

La Belle as I call her on here, I’ve known her 12 years, we had a relationship for a while back then but circumstances, mainly work and child care, hers and mine, got in the way.  

She’s younger, better looking and moodier than me.   

Of course she’d say that I would say that.    

But it’s hormones, it goes with having tits. He generalised. 

But do you know a pre-menopausal or menopausal woman who isn’t moody?

Name one?

I rest my case!

Fortunately, like most relationships it’s about balance and the good outweighing the bad. 

Last week this holiday wasn’t happening. Who’d want to spend serious time with someone who does your head in?

She’s hanging over my shoulder right now, airplane seats are way to close and has just spotted that last statement.   

I could be in trouble. 

So in fairness, I’ll concede that doing each others head in is probably possibly maybe what we do best! 

La Belle, the beautiful woman, is pretty hot for an ordinary looking guy like me. 

I should and do consider myself lucky. But then I’ve never kissed a frog. 

Happy holidays!

What a weekend I’ve had. 

The Who in Glasgow on Friday with brother number 2. They banged out the hits including my personal favourites Baba O’Reilly and Won’t Be Fooled Again     

Its hard to grasp that these guys have been knocking out the hits for nearly 55 years since My Generation in 1963. There’s nothing old about these rockers. 

Saturday up early for the drive north then south to Ardlamont Point to join my mates wild camping on the beach. 

A walk along the beach and up the hills followed by a night around the campfire jamming and drinking with your best pals til 3am is part of what life is all about. 

Now a week in the sun with La Belle.  

Life is good. 

In fact, it doesn’t really get much better. 

Leave a Reply

