Do blame it on the sunshine!

IMG_9426

Like me,   today is possibly  your first day back at the grind after over two weeks of doing nothing but celebrating and chilling.

Jeee-susss .. how hard was it to drag my sorry ass out of bed this morning?

If you live in the northern regions,  I’m sure that you struggled just like me.

I’ve been out the office since 16th December,  using up holidays and an imposed absence by the bank on consultants over the period.

Am I complaining?

Am I hell .. It’s been 2.5 weeks off work and a fantastic break.

I even managed to forget my login password .. that’s a sure sign that I had a great break,   or my dementia is setting in early or maybe a little of both.

Anyway,  do you know what I really missed in 2016?

Sunshine .. thats the first year in quite a while I haven’t taken a big metal bird to a warmer climate and boy do I miss it.

With the short days and particularly the dark mornings,  I find it hard to get going,   hard to get motivated and drag my ass into work in the dark and then home in the dark.

I think I’m probably seasonally affected .. symptoms of which can include:

  • a persistent low mood  … Nope
  • a loss of pleasure or interest in normal everyday activities   .. Nope
  • irritability  .. No more than normal!   🙂
  • feelings of despair, guilt and worthlessness  .. Nope
  • feeling lethargic (lacking in energy) and sleepy during the day .. Yep
  • sleeping for longer than normal and finding it hard to get up in the morning  .. Yep
  • craving carbohydrates and gaining weight  .. Too right .. its cold and we need energy

 

Maybe you feel the same and find yourself comfort eating on cold dark days,  putting on a few pounds, then New Year comes around and you reassess and want to lose weight.

Don’t be too hard on yourself,  don’t feel guilty about it,  it’s completely natural to feel tired and over-eat at this time of year as your body ramps up for the cold dark days until the earth spins back on its axis and we get longer days as the sun is higher in the sky.

My first day back from holiday and all I can think about is lying in the sunshine.

Pretty normal really!

So if you’re also feeling SAD ..Do blame it on the sunshine .. or lack of it.

No wonder our forefathers worshipped that life giving big yellow ball of hydrogen.

I was brought up Catholic .. but think I’m a Pagan at heart.

 

Leave a Reply

