Train Stories – Booty Call?

We’ve all done them!

Well okay, they are more likely to happen if you’re single, but I know at least one couple who are married to other people and grab the chance to get together whenever the opportunity arises. 

Should I moralise?  

It’s hardly ideal, but its their life and if that’s how they deal with the inadequacies of their marriage, who am I to say?

I could write a whole new blog on that one.

As a single guy, its actually quite flattering in a way to get that. call late at night for some passion. Someone is thinking about you, wants you, needs you, even if it’s just for the human touch. A warm body in the night to make you feel alive wanted, desired. 

Inevitably it’s back to reality in the morning, separate life’s,  different responsibilities and you get on with it, until the next time. 

Hopefully within that gap there are other occasions of romance, dates and time spent together for more than s3x. 

As a single woman are you just as flattered by male attention?  

Do you feel used if that’s the only call that ever comes? That there’s nothing real inbetween?

Personally, I’ve only ever did the booty call with people that I’m already in a relationship with.   

As a dad with daughters, I just wouldn’t bring anyone home that I thought wasn’t going anywhere as it would confuse the girls and send the wrong signals on what’s acceptable. 

The women that I’ve met are the same, far too decent to involve their children with the guy they’ve started seeing just because one or the other of you are on the horn. 

Having kids definitely complicates a relationship, but the kids are permanent whereas relationships can fade. 

So you do the right thing by them but grab the occasion when you can. 

It’s respect for the kids, respect for yourself.
At 11pm last night, I’m on my Jack Jones downstairs, feeling a bit tired, reading my twitter feed and falling asleep on the sofa.

What happened next?

A booty call?

Yes, but not as you’d expect.

My daughter Laura 24 appears beside me .. “Dad is it okay if Mark comes down and stays over?”

And I’m giving her the eye … Hmmmm … “You kidding?”

“Well I’m working 12 hour shifts all weekend and I won’t see him until next week”

As a dad, what do you do?

Tell them to feck off? She’s 24 and a nurse and been seeing the guy 18 months .. Not as if she’s a baby.

“Can you not go to Mark’s?”   

“No we are always at his and I’m already ready for my bed” … It’s dark but I can see that she’s wearing her jammies and dressing gown.

And theres a pause, her big brown eyes pleading for a yes.

When I left for work at 7:30am, Marks car was still on the driveway.

Now sitting no the train, I’m wondering how things have changed, the role reversal of dad and daughter.

Maybe its time that she had her own place?
I just hope my other daughter Claire, almost 18, who has recently started dating, doesn’t get any ideas! 🙂

Currently listening to I Want Your Love by Chic,  love the way the trumpet follows the strings and never fails to make me want to dance. 

Not long until Niles and the band are at Party In The Palace

Leave a Reply

