Uncertainty, Secrets, Oppression, Hope – #IndyRef

Uncertainty
It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way. .

Secrets
A wonderful fact to reflect upon, that every human creature is constituted to be that profound secret and mystery to every other. A solemn consideration, when I enter a great city by night, that every one of those darkly clustered houses encloses its own secret; that every room in every one of them encloses its own secret; that every beating heart in the hundreds of thousands of breasts there, is, in some of its imaginings, a secret to the heart nearest it!

Oppression / Rebellion
Along the Paris streets, the death-carts rumble, hollow and harsh. Six tumbrels carry the day’s wine to La Guillotine. All the devouring and insatiate Monsters imagined since imagination could record itself, are fused in one realization, Guillotine. And yet there is not in France, with its rich variety of soil and climate, a blade, a leaf, a root, a sprig, a peppercorn, which will grow to maturity under conditions more certain than those that have produced this horror. Crush humanity out of shape once more, under similar hammers, and it will twist itself into the same tortured forms. Sow the same seed of rapacious license and oppression over again, and it will surely yield the same fruit according to its kind.

Hope
I see a beautiful city and a brilliant people rising from this abyss, and, in their struggles to be truly free, in their triumphs and defeats, through long years to come, I see the evil of this time and of the previous time of which this is the natural birth, gradually making expiation for itself and wearing out. . . .
I see that child who lay upon her bosom and who bore my name, a man winning his way up in that path of life which once was mine. I see him winning it so well, that my name is made illustrious there by the light of his. . . .
It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest I go to than I have ever known.
For no reason,  other than enlightening myself,  understanding the wisdom of old and applying it to the new.   I came across the passages above .. so beautifully written, mesmeric,  descriptive,  sometimes vague but all the more meaningful for it.

They are all key extracts from A Tale Of Two Cities by Charles Dickens,  his comparison between London and Paris,  both of them hostile and oppressive to the poor.

Reading them made me think of two other cities London and Edinburgh and the recent vote for Scottish Independence.

As it happens,  my young daughter Claire is visiting the Scottish Parliament today with her 6th year Modern Studies class.

That last extract of Hope,  hit a little chord with me,  it didn’t happen this time,  but change will come,  our children with their sense of fairness will make it happen.

More info on the quotes in the link below
http://www.sparknotes.com/lit/twocities/quotes.html

3 thoughts on “Uncertainty, Secrets, Oppression, Hope – #IndyRef

  1. And that came from where boy ? .. You feeling all mellow inside 😉 bring back upbeat Mxboy ..

    Santa is only a few sleeps away !!lllll

    1. I’m actually feeling good .. Mellow chilled content and all is well in my wee world.

      I’m so happy with my bubble that Santa doesn’t even need to bring me any pressies ..

      There’s absolutely nothing I want. .

      Not a thing ..

      You see …

      I’ve got a small confession ..

      But I’m not sure if I should share it ..

      This knowledge may just scare anyone reading this blog away!

      But last night …

      As I wandered around Tesco ..

      Food shopping .. I stopped to pick up some new fluffy jammies for my girls and my dad.

      And there it was ..

      A Spider-Man onesy!!

      I thought I’m having that!!

      Now my life is complete and i don’t need another thing!! 🙂

      Normal web crawling services will be resumed imminently!!

      Hope you’re all set for Christmas?

      X

      Ps – I’m honestly not kidding about the onesy!!

Leave a Reply

