The Parting Glass – Christmas Tree

Of all the money that e’er I had
I’ve spent it in good company
And all the harm that e’er I’ve done
Alas it was to none but me

And all I’ve done for want of wit
To memory now I can’t recall
So fill to me the parting glass
Good night and joy be with you all

The Parting Glass – Irish Traditional

Tonight as my young daughter and I put up our Christmas tree, a joyful time, but also a time for memories, thoughts of family and friends no longer with us.

To avoid the somber mood creeping in, I let Claire put her playlist on and enjoyed the time spent with my darling girl before she grows up and flies the nest.

I was expecting her choice to be a blend of dance and Christmas party tunes and indeed it was, both of us singing Pumped Up Kicks amongst others.

But to my surprise and delight, she also played the following Irish Traditional tune as covered by Ed Sheeran.

I hadn’t heard his version before and I wonder why he comes to be singing such a traditional song.

Such a talented young man, much more so than you’re average mass produced Xfactor output. He was fantastic on stage solo at TITP this year.

But this sent a shiver through me.

Just thought I’d share.

Good night and joy be with you all

IMG_7289.JPG

3 thoughts on “The Parting Glass – Christmas Tree

  1. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas …. That there tree needs lots of prezies under it … Get shopping Mx …..

Leave a Reply

