September Blue? #ChrisRea

Your head spins round on a Monday
And the daylight’s in your eyes
How you laughed and cursed tomorrow
Now he’s standing by your side
You touched the stars at midnight
The whole world seem to shout ‘Hello’
Now your throat is tired and heavy
And only one can go

I’ll be all right though I may cry
The tears that flow they always dry
It’s just that I would rather be with you now
And every time I see that star
I will say a prayer for you
Now and forever September blue

I’ll be all right though I may cry
The tears that flow they always dry
It’s just that I would rather be with you now
And every time I see that star
I will say a prayer for you
Now and forever September blue
‘Cos I’ll always love you
September blue

—-

Last day of September, sitting on a train with the low sun brightening up the beautiful Scottish countryside.

Sometimes a song comes into your head for no reason, or because someone else has seeded an idea.

I love that song, so sad and touching, it gets me every time.

It takes me somewhere else, to memories of losing loved ones, my mum particularly as she passed in September a few years ago.

But also of lost love, to mistakes made and lessons harshly learned.

You’ve probably never heard it as it was never a hit or single but give it a listen and I’m sure you’ll love it too.

Ps – writing that has put the tiniest glimmer of a tear in my eye, the guy sitting across from me in the 4 seat booth is probably wondering what the feck is going on with this plonker!

I will always love you September Blue!

2 thoughts on “September Blue? #ChrisRea

Leave a Reply

