So It’s A No Then? #IndyRef

 So Scotland voted No.

Well actually 55% of the people who voted said NO,  45% said YES on an 86% turnout.

That’s an outstanding turnout and I believe that it set a new UK record.

What happened to the other 14%?

Disinterested,  apathetic,  couldn’t care less?

I happened to be speaking with my ex-wife yesterday,  her and her new man couldn’t be bothered voting and were happy to go with the flow.

I didn’t comment but what a waste of an opportunity to make a difference.

Would the other 14% have made a difference?

We will never know but it’s indicative of the volume of people who feel disenfranchised with whatever government run the UK or an independent Scotland.

What about the 45% who got off their arses and said YES.. are they feeling disenfranchised now?

I’m sure that there will be disappointments to various degrees,  but personally I’m taking the positive from this and viewing it as a step along the way to what will eventually happen.

Working in Edinburgh’s financial area,  anyone that I spoke to that voted NO did so either because they are actually English by birth and reside here,  immigrants who now reside here and want to remain part of the UK or Scottish people who voted because they feared for the value of the pound in their pocket.

Should these people who are non-Scottish by birth have had any say in this election?

Personally I don’t think so ..  I don’t care what passport someone holds,  what colour of skin they have,  but residing in the country just isn’t enough to understand the issues.

This isn’t about money or personal circumstances,  this is about a nation controlling it’s own destiny.

It would be interesting to see the demographic of who actually voted when country of birth is considered

What does the future hold?

Well you know that I’m not a fan of Alex Salmond,  but I think his speech this morning was pretty magnanimous in accepting defeat but working for more powers to the devolved Scotland.

Mr Cameron,  also magnanimous in victory reiterated that the plan to work with the Scottish Parliament to devolve more powers,  very generous of him,  but my cynical side is telling me that it won’t happen and will be shot down by a southern English conservative vote who have been hostile to Scotland’s desires to control its own destiny.

Today,  we’re in the UK for the foreseeable future,  but 45% of voters aren’t going to disappear,  they are energised and active.

I absolutely believe that independence will happen,  it’s just a matter of time.

—-

For the record,  I’m apolitical,   I do not trust or agree with any political party and find their petty bickering wasteful.   They are more about retaining their own power than doing what is right for the people.

That doesn’t mean that I don’t care about politics or social issues,  I believe that people are far more important than political parties.

My personal preference would be to end unconstructive party politics and get the people voting for the big issues and having the politicians become administrators working for the will of the people.

We already have the technology to make that happen.

One thought on “So It’s A No Then? #IndyRef

  1. Good post M. A friend of mine, who is a no voter, expressed this morning that although 45% of people voted for independence, he believes 90% of people voted for change. Personally, I think that’s a tad high and a bit unrealistic – not everyone wants change and some are afraid of it. However, there are plenty that do and I hope we use our collective drive, passion and energy to make Scotland a better place. It would be such a shame to see it dissipate.

Leave a Reply

