Dads, Daughters, Dates and Ex Wife’s!! #Family

It’s my daughter Claire’s prom tonight, 16 going on 17 and turning into a lovely young independent woman.

The past few weeks have been full of organisation and preparations.

Long slinky dress.. check
Matching Bag .. check
Strappy sandals .. check
Hair appointment .. check
Fake tan appointment .. check

She’s very fair skinned and had the fake tan done the other night, fortunately it’s a golden glow and not too dark.

Last night, she had a trial run with the full outfit , mint green dress, matching bag with silver strap, silver strappy heels.

She looked absolutely fantastic even without her hair and makeup done.

But her neck looked very bare, when she’d tried on the dress a few weeks ago.

She was missing a necklace and earrings, but I’d already thought about that and she was delighted with my choice of sterling silver and Swarovski crystals.

I wanted to buy her a small thing and something to remind her of the occasion.

Today she’s getting her hair done and my other daughter Laura is doing her makeup.

I have no doubts that she’ll look stunning. Or that I’ll be very proud.

But for me, it’s going to be a bit strange with my ex-wife Alison over at mine helping Claire get ready.

I thought it was the right thing to do and Claire seemed happy with the idea, so I called her up the other day and invited her over, Laura is picking her up at lunchtime and bringing her over.

Right now, sitting at work, it’s 10am and I’m already a bit anxious about it but can’t explain why.

Would you feel comfortable with your ex being in your house while you were at work?

But it’ll be fine, what’s the worst that could happen, I’ve nothing to hide from her.

Well apart from that bag at the back of the wardrobe .. oh .. wait .. sssshhh … 🙂

Today is about Claire, it’s her days, hopefully Alison and I can put our differences behind us.

I’m hoping to level work early and open a bottle of bubbly as a small celebration before driving her into town.

Tonight, Claire has a date .. yeah my wee girl has a date!

Now that’s even more scary than my ex wife going through my cupboards!!

Heaven help me when either of my girls get married!

Love this song but wow betide anyone who messes with my girls!! 🙂

One thought on “Dads, Daughters, Dates and Ex Wife’s!! #Family

  1. Good for you M, inviting Alison over. It was the right thing to do. Sometimes, we need to put past differences aside for the sake of our kids. Hope Claire has a great time tonight. X

Leave a Reply

