Uninvited Choices?

Like anyone would be
I am flattered by your fascination with me
Like any hot-blooded woman
I have simply wanted an object to crave
But you, you’re not allowed
You’re uninvited
An unfortunate slight

I don’t think you unworthy
I need a moment to deliberate

I love that song, it paints an image of a woman wanting love but not necessarily that of the current applicant.

Maybe she changes her mind after she “deliberates” .. after she takes a little time to think about it?

She says herself, that the guy is not unworthy, so he’s not a complete waste of her time, effort, affection …

Maybe she’s being a bit precious and needs to be a bit more realistic in her expectations?

I wonder if she is on match.com? 🙂

Anyway.. why is it that women always get the choice?

Has it always been that way?

Of course not, but it there are a few conflicting factors that vary over a person’s life, that makes them more precious or desperate and set their criteria accordingly.

My personal experience is that an individual’s self esteem or lack of it has to be one of the key contributing factors in the search for a partner.

The lower the self esteem, the more desperate someone becomes for love / lust / affection and the reassurance of attraction helping restore their self worth.

My advice, value yourself, anything else you will only regret as relationships formed while at a low ebb won’t have the same value and are inevitably doomed.

I digress ..

It’s not really the lyrics that I love, its more the feel of it, I’ve included two very different versions below, the original Alanis Miorrisette and the Freemasons featuring and Jodie Tsuke so different yet so haunting, hard to choose a favourite.

Like the woman in the lyrics perhaps?

Leave a Reply

