The Captain Of Your Soul?

It’s funny how you can sometimes find inspiration in the strangest places.

On Sunday night I was in a sports bar for an hour or two watching Barcelona play Real Madrid, two world class football teams, both up to their ears in debt ( combined bank debt over 1 billion pounds). But they put on a fantastic show with Barcelona coming from behind to win 4-3.

The bar was largely full of men, cheering the game and it got louder as time rolled on and a few penalties were given in questionable circumstances.

Before heading home, I did the necessary and standing there facing the wall came across the following poem, Invictus by William Ernest Henley, I took the time to read it and found it quite inspirational and uplifting particularly the last few lines.

You are the master of your own fate.

You are the captain of your soul.

I guess that we’ve all had experiences of relationships, not necessarily with partners, but also with friends or family, where we have allowed other people set our destinations, sometimes just going with the flow to have a quiet life. The problem with that is you end up somewhere that you don’t really want to be.

Just remember, that your destiny is contained in your own hands and depends upon the choices you make.

As we go through life, it’s important to remember that.

Hopefully you find that as inspirational as I have.

Right now, for me, I hate my job, can’t stand it, feeling like a square peg in a round hole and it doesn’t really matter to me that it pays well .. I’m at breaking point even although I’ve only been here 2 months.

My dilemma is that I’ve never broke a contract, but why put up with something you don’t enjoy?

Time for me to take charge of my destiny, quietly speak my truth and if nothing changes, move on.

Invictus
Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

For some background reading on the poem including its use within popular culture check the link below.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Invictus

Leave a Reply

