Enjoy The Silence?

Saturday Dec 12 2009

My mate Stephen and I at the Depeche Mode gig at Glasgows’ SEC.

It turns out that 2 of my 4 brothers were there too as I bumped into them in the loos.

And why wouldn’t they be, Depeche are part of the fabric of our youth and growing up.

Their first two singles New Life and Dreaming Of Me were frankly poppy pish but who can forget being lifted by the throbbing bass and hypnotic pulse of Just Can’t Get Enough, even today it reverberates within me and has became an anthem at my football club.

That of course was before Vince Clarke left them in the lurch and went off to form Yazoo and then Erasure, both poppy bands with some fab tunes but there was obviously some damage and ill feeling left behind as the band refuse to play any of their early songs which were written by Vince Clarke.

Such a shame really.

But that changes tonight, looking at the setlist Just Can’t Get Enough has been a feature of their recent gigs being played as part of the encore and personally I can’t wait.

Depeche then became darker, morbid and depressing and I loist touch with them for years as by that time I was in Dad-mode.

Songs like Walking iIn My Shoes explore the Dave Gahan’s Heroin Addiction

But I’ve been listening to them over the past 10 years or more as they hone their craft, now touring on a global scale, or as they call it Touring The Universe taking in Europe, Austrilasia, The Far East and North and South America.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tour_of_the_Universe_%28Depeche_Mode_tour%29

http://www.depechemode.com/tour/

A few of my favourite lyrics of theirs below .. each of these have a relevance to me.

Last time 4 years ago, singing Enjoy The Silence with my friend Lynn, I wonder if she’ll be there tonight.

I hope she smiles and thinks about me when its being played, I’ll be thinking about her.

Enjoy The Silence!! 🙂

Precious

Precious and fragile things
Need special handling
My God what have we done to you
We always tried to share
The tenderest of care
Now look what we have put you through

Things get damaged
Things get broken
I thought we’d manage
But words left unspoken
Left us so brittle
There was so little left to give

Walking in My Shoes

Now I’m not looking for absolution
Forgiveness for the things I do
But before you come to any conclusions
Try walking in my shoes
Try walking in my shoes

You’ll stumble in my footsteps
Keep the same appointments I kept
If you try walking in my shoes
If you try walking in my shoes

Enjoy The Silence

Words like violence
Break the silence
Come crashing in
Into my little world
Painful to me
Pierce right through me
Can’t you understand
Oh my little girl

All I ever wanted
All I ever needed
Is here in my arms
Words are very unnecessary
They can only do harm

Personal Jesus

Your own personal Jesus
Someone to hear your prayers
Someone who cares
Your own personal Jesus
Someone to hear your prayers
Someone who’s there

Feeling unknown
And you’re all alone
Flesh and bone
By the telephone
Lift up the receiver
I’ll make you a believer
I will deliver
You know I’m a forgiver

Reach out and touch faith

Leave a Reply

