Being A Couple?

Hello to you,

been a strange week .. there’s been a few of them recently.

My daughter Claire is on holiday from school so has disappeared over to her mums for the week.

I should be making the most of that, having fun, doing what I want with the house to myself.

In truth tho, I miss having her around, but if I’m completely honest, its not just Claire I miss, I miss having company of any kind.

You know how it is, you go to work, try to keep yourself busy, go and see friends or the movies.

But at the end of the day,, when everyone ihas said goodnight, you are on your own.

I fell asleep at 9pm last night, right out of it, woke up at 3, did a little browsing, watched tv, then felt tired again and fell asleep til 7am.

Woke up, made tea, played piano and was late for work .. how did that happen? 🙂

I’ve been on my own for a while now, I should be used to this and I thought I was, but maybe thats not quite honest.

Sometimes having Claire living with me means its not really practical or feasible to be with anyone else.

But and this is a bit difficult for me to say, the more I live alone, the more I realise that I miss being part of a couple.

Theres a shocker .. that wasn’t easy to admit it, but I do.

What makes you a couple? Is it lvinig together? A shared home? kids? A mortgage?

All that would be ideal, the fairytale of youth, but I don’t think you need any of that to know that you are in a secure loving relationship.

For a while, I thought that what made you a couple was having common interests and doing exciting things together, concerts, theatre, holidays, hill-walking.

But thats all pish really.

Doing fun things is great, but it just hides the reality of day-to-day living separately.

Now I realise is that what really makes you a couple is when you are happy to do the ordinary everyday banal stuff as long as you are doing it together or as part of a team.

You know the daft things, food shopping together, or separately and buying things because you know that your partner likes them.

Knowing that its your job to takes the bin out and that she will put the washing on .. or vice versa.

I’m quite a domesticated kind of guy, I like to enjoy life and have lots of fun, but I’m also very capable and I do everything that needs done around the house, I don’t “need” anyone else to do it for me.

I’m not looking for a little woman or a mother replacement to come along and do all that crap that most men can’t do on their own.

I like having a nice comfortable home, I do everything that needs done .. okay that includes having a cleaner in one day per week.

But when it comes right down to it, there is no point having a large family home on my own.

What has taken me a while to realise is that I want to be part of a couple rather than a single man.

But it is going to take one very special lady to change that!! 🙂

Right, enough of the self analysis ..

Actually it wasn’t analysis at all, I just wrote that off the top of my head, hope it makes sense, kind of tells you were I am.

Love this song from Texas … But still prefer the Al Green original .. no competition really.

One thought on “Being A Couple?

Leave a Reply

