And I need you more than want you.

And I need you more than want you
And I want you for all time

Great lyrics from The Wichita Lineman, I’d forgotten how fantastic that song is.

It paints a graphic picture of an ordinary working man then in the 2 lines above turns into a beautiful lovesong.

Those lines say it all really..

Written by Jimmy Webb when I was a kid, but I can remember being at family parties and hearing Glen Campbell singing this and By The Time I Get To Pheonix.

Jimmy is a fantastic writer, also famous for Galveston and bizarrely MacArthur PArk which when I heard for the first time back in 1978 being covered by Donna Summer seems so incongrous with the country feel of his other songs.

I’m sitting at work at the moment, iphone and headphones on listening to The Johnny Cash version of The Wichita Lineman, but I also love the Gomez version .. and can feel a listen to MacArthur Park coming around soon .. well its nearly the weekend!

Love the version of MacArthur Park below with the missing verses from the single

A strange wonderfully melodic dijointed song,

Someone left my cake out in the rain ….

Whit??!! 🙂

Leave a comment